Phuket Taxi and Transfers

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Savage Soi Dogs

Cadet Gold

Savage Soi Dogs

What to do?

I hear you can get arrested if you dare to defend yourself from them, in these Snowflake, PC days.

So, do you carry a stick - or a few hotdog sausages?

Terrorise, or befriend, them?

There's SURELY a solution to this problem (ain't there?).

Uber Star Soi wanderer Thai Dreamer ผู้เพ้อฝัน MarcTwoSix's Avatar
    How savage can they be?

I've been coming to Thailand for 15 years............I had my German Shepherd move with me to Phuket for almost 2 years

They would bark when walking with him but that's all

Out of the 4 or 5 aggressive dogs in 15 years that made any movement, I just lurched forward and they scurried
    BunnyGee likes this.

Cadet Gold
    Quote Originally Posted by MarcTwoSix View Post
    How savage can they be?
    Perhaps it's your confidence they sense.

Maybe I exude an aura which makes me appear to be a postman (or a meal on legs).

Like you, i used to walk with impunity but on one occasion I was with my daughter when a particularly large and aggressive brute menaced us. I think he reacted to her fear and despite my equally aggressive response towards him, actually carried through his attack and I was bitten a few times, quite severely before its owner arrived and brought him back under control.

Since then, I guess my nervousness is sensed by the beasts and I have even been attacked whilst driving a motorbike and even , on more than one occasion, returning home in a tuk-tuk FFS.

Lamai Beach Bum Thai Dreamer ผู้เพ้อฝัน bacwaan's Avatar
    the vast majority of soi and beach dogs I come across are usually all bark and no bite...and they will calm once they get near you provided you stand still and say a few kind words (I do it in Thai..no idea if that helps...I thinks it's just the timbre and easiness of the voice I use)..